la mano pintada

La mano pintada
“The painted hand”

This phrase is a peculiar one.  I suppose your hand could be painted, but when I think about this phrase I don’t think of a painted hand, but painted nails, ‘uñas pintadas.’  When I was in Córdoba, Argentina (6 years ago now), there was a small shop called, “La mano pintada” that sold women’s clothing, bathing suits and accessories.  It was a cute store, but I remember it for quite an embarrassing reason that for some reason I feel compelled to share with all of you.

When I packed for my 6-month trip, I confess I did a very poor job and didn’t pack a lot of things I really needed, one of those things being a bathing suit.  I guess I didn’t really think I’d need one, which was such a big mistake. I don’t know if it was this store in particular, or the whole of Argentina, but there wasn’t a single one-piece.  Not that I don’t like two-piece bathing suits, but theirs consisted of two triangles for the top and a thong for the bottom.  To make matters worse, the sizes are very very different.  They only had 0, 1, 2, and 3 on the floor and 4s available in the back.  Now, I don’t know what these equate to in the US, but I know here I’m a size 6-8. And the saleswoman proclaimed (after examining my rear) that she hoped I would fit in a 4. Awkward.

Anyway…after getting the least revealing bikini, in a size 4, I wore it twice over there, under clothes and haven’t touched it since.

But..I’d still like to say a bit more about the phrase, “la mano pintada”.  If you didn’t know, ‘la mano’ is one of those words that is an exception to the rule as far as gender agreement (ends in ‘o’ but is feminine). Also, just because I never do it! I’ll show you my pretty pink ‘uñas pintadas’ (painted nails).

Happy Thursday!

Image

Leave a Reply

