Talk to me!

Okay, so we all know that the internet has made things better and worse as far as communication.  Through social media we can now keep in touch with anyone and everyone we choose.  I can see what my cousins are up to up north, my sister out west, and even friends of mine who are now living in foreign countries.  How cool is that??  I mean, really.  As long as there in a internet connection, we can all stay connected.

There are pros and cons of course.  Something I miss most, hand-written letters from my cousins that I actually got in the (snail) mail.  They were so much fun!  Each note was scrawled on flashy Lisa Frank stationery  with stickers and glitter pens, it was so awesome!  And even now we try to send at least one item in the mail each year.  This year I received a note with some photos and I sent a birthday card and baby blanket.

But, all in all the internet lets us communicate constantly and effectively.  Today I found this interesting (at least to me) article entitled, “The Effectiveness of Online Situated Environments for Language Learning.”  And the findings were pretty amazing.  The article discusses the effectiveness of learning Chinese (yes, CHINESE!!!) in an online environment.  Overall, the experience was effective.  Students found that doing activities online actually motivated them to study.

So, my big question is, “What do you think?” 

From personal experience I’ve learned that children (especially those with ADD and ADHD) really love and benefit interacting through the internet.  They get to push buttons, play games, and see your face!  I have also tutored a good number of adults through the internet and they have been pleased with the results. 

Do you think it would work for you?

Leave a Reply

