No hay tocino

 

 

I can’t believe that it’s been over 5 years since I completed my study abroad program in Cordoba, Argentina! Where does the time go!?

I guess time flies when you’re having fun!

For some reason today I’ve been thinking about a particular event that occurred while studying abroad….I think that we were about half way through our stay and a bunch of us began to crave things that we couldn’t have (or things that just weren’t common in Argentina).  Prime example: bacon.  Now, I’m not an avid bacon eater….once in a while if I head out to IHOP I may munch on a strip or two….but like I said before, you always want what you can’t have.

And we had it bad…we found ourselves talking and talking and talking about bacon….A LOT.  Finally, one Saturday afternoon when we just couldn’t take it anymore we decided we were going to have a good ole’Merican breakfast….yes all of our host families thought we were crazy (those crazy Americans and there BIG breakfasts!).  But the day of our feast as we entered the grocery we couldn’t find the one thing we all really really wanted….BACON!  So, we settled for jamón crudo…and fried it up a bit….at least it smelled like bacon!

Leave a Reply

