I.O., D.O., I don’t know…

parlote_jpg_640_640I’ll be perfectly honest with you…learning about Indirect and Direct Objects in Spanish stinks.  When I first started learning them (in Spanish), I thought to myself, “I don’t even remember what these are in English!”  I guess I should have, but I didn’t.

So to clarify, for those of you who may not recall.  Direct objects are the “objects” or “things” we talk about in the sentence and the Indirect Object is the person who receives the action.   Yes, I know it sounds confusing, but I’ll explain.

She brings me the ball.

She= subject

brings= verb

me= Indirect Object

ball= Direct Object

Now in Spanish our Indirect Objects are:

Yo me
Tú te
El le
Nosotros nos
Ellos les

And Direct Objects (for right now) are:

lo/la

los/las

* These depend on whether the object you are talking about is feminine or masculine, singular or plural

Order:

In Spanish, we always place the I.O. first, then the D.O., and they both come before the conjugated verb. OR in that same order (I.O., D.O. then attached to the infinitive= Verb in AR, IR, or ER form)

Examples:

Let’s go back to our first example:

She brings me the ball.
español

Subject: Ella
I.O.: me
Verb: trae
D.O.: la pelota
Ella me da la pelota.

She brings me it (the ball).

Ella me la trae.

I know that you are looking at this and saying, “This is so backwards!” The truth is yes, it is, but remember these rules for Spanish:

1. Your verb is conjugated to agree with your SUBJECT

2. Your I.O. comes BEFORE your D.O.

3. Both your I.O. and D.O. come BEFORE your CONJUGATED verb

I know it’s a lot! But the next post will explain your I.O.s and D.O.s in more depth!

But now, I.O., D.O. you DO KNOW!

Hasta la próxima vez…

 

 

Leave a Reply

