The food I can't live without…

Peanut Butter Scare

I don't know if I have five foods I couldn't live without, but I can think of two. Peanut Butter and Apples. Yes, I know what it probably wouldn't be on the top of everyone's list, but if you think about it I think that these two foods make pretty good sense.

First, peanut butter is a great source of protein–that's why it was created more or less. Second, apples are a great source of fiber. Third, both of these are very yummy and particularly awesome together.

When I was studying in Argentina, finding peanut butter was a hard thing to do. Most Argentinians think that peanut butter is disgusting and would never think of eating it. The woman I lived with, (she was amazing) trekked all through downtown Cordoba to find peanut butter for me (this was after my Mom sent me one of those giant jars of JIF that you use primarily for baking).

When Rosita did find peanut butter, she brought some home and then said to me…"What do you do with it?" I think that my mouth almost hit the floor and I said something like, "What can't you do with it? Then I explained that with peanut butter the possibilities were endless…"PB & J, PB and toast, PB and chocolate, PB and apples, PB and celery, PB and bananas…." I felt like Bubba from Forrest Gump listing all the things you could do with shrimp.

After my long explanation Rosita started to soak it all in and even began to partake of the peanut-buttery-goodness. It was nice to share a little bit of my foodie culture with someone who made amazing food. And, I learned that it was very hard for me to live without my PB!

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

