Sí, yo cocino….

ImageOk, I’ll admit it…cooking is not my favorite thing to do.  And unfortunately, I can think of a number of things I’d like to do in its place (sorry, but it’s true).  BUT, that doesn’t mean that I can’t cook (I’m not the best, but I can do it…my mama and grandma taught me well!).

But my method is as follows:

1) Pick a recipe (or dinner menu for the week)
2) Scour the cabinets and pantry for what I already have
3) Make out my list the night before
4) Go to the grocery store the next day (sticking strictly to my list and moving as fast as humanly possible without running into anything or anyone….while simultaneously humming the theme song to “Speed Racer” in my head)
5) Come home and put everything away (except for what I need immediately)
6) Prep everything (Become the Slice and Dice MASTER!)
7) Throw it all together (without trying to burn anything….I’m usually pretty good at this)

So, it was in this manner that I made last night’s dinner…Black Bean and Corn Salad with Wild Caught Salmon Burgers. (YUM!  And ok, the burgers came out just a little cripsy…but it was nothing Bragg’s Liquid Aminos couldn’t fix!)

So after that beyond exciting story about my cooking routine, here are some palabras de español so at least you can say you learned something useful!

concinar- to cook
comer- to eat
frijoles negros- black beans
maíz- corn
aguacate- avocado
pimienta- pepper (like a red pepper)
sal- salt
ajo- garlic
aciete de oliva- olive oil
jugo de lima- lime juice
salmón- salmon

La receta de anoche (last night’s recipe, enjoy!)

Leave a Reply

