Home Education

I know that I have mentioned this subject at least a couple of times before now.  That being the subject of whether or not to homeschool (my hypothetical (I say that because I don’t have any yet)) children.  Growing up, I always loved learning (still do) and really loved school, at least after middle school ended.  I enjoyed seeing my friends everyday, running on the cross-country team, being in the Spanish Club, and on the debate team.  And I think that desire to be involved, “always doing something” still lives on.  I despise being idle and when I have any free time I’m always looking to fill it was some productive activity.

I say all this because I believe that many parents are concerned that their children will not receive a proper ‘social education’ or stimulation if they are homeschooled.  Honestly, I used to believe that too, but after observing a few homeschool families I wholly disagree with this concern.  Many homeschooling families belong to homeschooling co-ops or organizations where their children play sports and have other classes or activities.  There are still others who are very active in their church groups or religious organizations.  Now, it’s true I don’t know the ins-and-outs of homeschooling but it appears to be just like anything else–you reap what you sow (or you put into it what you get out of it).  This possibility of homeschooling is a very exciting one–I’m always looking for interesting crafts and activities, thinking of methods to use, and so excited that when the day comes I can teach my own children Spanish!

Anyway, all this pondering (hoping and dreaming) has led me to discover the Southeast Homeschool Expo, where in the company of a friend I can hope to learn even more! This expo will be held at the Cobb Galleria Center, July 26-28.  You should come a check it out!

Leave a Reply

