My Cooking

From Sweet Potato to Sweet Tooth

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies-3

Unfortunately, cooking has never been my “thing”. It’s not that I don’t like it or that I can’t do it necessarily…it just doesn’t get me excited. I guess I didn’t inherit that “love of cooking” gene from my Mom (it’s something that she loves to do!)

However, I do have some favorite dishes and things that I like to prepare. For example, I love the Sweet Potato dish I learned to make while I was in Argentina. Stir fry is pretty easy, healthy, and yummy….(made some the other day with tuna steaks instead of chicken and it was pretty good!). I also like making omelets….but probably my most favorite is salad. I know that doesn’t sound too exciting but I love mixing things together…apples, crumbled bacon, spinach, chickpeas, dried cranberries….yum yum!

I know (or at least I hope…) as time goes by it will spark more enthusiasm for cooking. I’d say one thing that greatly inspired me was living with my host-mom Rosita in Argentina. All around, Rosita was an inspiring person. She held tai-chi and yoga classes in her garage….made all her own pasta, bread, etc. And was such an interesting person with a definite “go-getter” attitude. She made the best bread pudding ever…and I’ve failed to reproduce it.

My own grandma is the queen of baking and makes the most awesome raisin-oatmeal cookies (my favorite!)…although my mom argues that the snickerdoodles are better (her favorite)….while my cousin is partial to potato-chip cookies (guess what…her favorite). Anyway, I guess the moral of this story is yes, I can cook I just am working on the motivation factor!

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

