El dia de San Valentino

Yes, I know Valentine’s Day has come and gone.  But it has left me with some beautiful red roses and some thoughts. Usually I rant about Valentine’s Day being an over-commercialized Hallmark holiday (which I still believe) but yesterday I had a little revelation.  Valentine’s Day is a day to be thankful.  Regardless if you are in a relationship or single, you should be thankful for the people in your life.  The simple phone calls I received yesterday from my parents saying “Happy Valentine’s Day, I love you,” made me so thankful for their love and presence in my life.

And the truth is I didn’t need them to call yesterday and say that….I know they love me everyday and I love them.  But it got me thinking… I am so thankful for my students, for my job, and for having the opportunity to do what I love everyday…helping others.  So, thank you St. Valentine for helping me be aware of the blessings in my life.

Leave a Reply

