I Wish I Were Fluent In…

The Art of Conversation (and the love of Language)

Conversation

I love languages and would love to conquer (acquire) all the romance languages (and a few more)…

1. Portuguese- I took one semester of Portuguese in college (while in Argentina…so I was learning Portuguese in Spanish, which I wouldn’t recommend….too much for the brain). I loved it and can understand it but can’t speak it so well.

2. Italian- My best friend is fluent in Italian and I think I can understand about 60% (maybe a little bit more). So we can have conversations in Spanish and Italian…it’s a fun brain exercise. And Italian is such a beautiful language…I would love to learn it formally.

3. Romanian- One of the five romance languages (the one that everyone forgets) that I’ve heard a few times and find very interesting.

4. French- I’d like to learn it because it is a romance language, but it’s not my top choice….sorry if I offend anyone, but I think French has too many letters that you don’t pronounce.

I’d also like to refresh my German and maybe learn some Czech

If you haven’t noticed, I love languages–learning them opens so many doors and it expands creativity and expression!

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Were Fluent In…

  1. I speak Spanish but I’m also learning French right now and you’re right about the lack of pronunciation. It’s very confusing and I sound like I’m speaking Spanish with a southern accent (if that makes any sense) when I speak French in class.

    However, my junior year I will be adding Portuguese onto my mix of languages so I’m excited for that!

  2. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

