Papas dulces

 Since Thanksgiving is right around the corner, I thought I would share another recipe.  This is another I learned while in Argentina from my host ‘mom’ Rosita.  Interestingly, the sweet potatoes (yams) in Argentina taste just like ours do here but instead of being orange in color, they are a light green (that brings a new look to the dish!).

Anyway, growing up in the South I was experienced sweet potato casserole, you know…the one that has a lot of brown sugar and marshmallows (sorry, but not my thing 😦 ). So, when Rosita asked me if I liked sweet potatoes, I have to admit I was a little leary…but this casserole has the perfect balance of sweetness and something tart for extra flavor and it’s actually very healthy! Enjoy.

2-3 Large Sweet Potatoes

1-1/2 Granny Smith Apples (doesn’t have to be Granny Smith, but a tart apple works best)

2 Tbsp. of Honey (I usually do it to taste)

1 Tsp. of Cinnamon (also to taste)

Peel sweet potatoes and boil until soft.  Then mash with fork or potato masher.  Peel and core the Granny Smith apple then grate it with a cheese grater.  Add into the mashed sweet potatoes and mix well.  Add your honey and then the cinnamon.  Mix everything well and it’s ready to serve.

Yield 4-5 servings (that’s for our house, so you may get a little more or less)

This casserole is great to serve with pork chops.  It’s become a holiday favorite at our house.  And sometimes I add some raisins for a little something extra!

One thought on “Papas dulces

Leave a Reply

