Art I Appreciate

Dance the Night Away…

Mr. Vachon and dancing partner, Montreal, QC, 1928

If I had to choose, I’d say that my favorite type of art would be dance. I’m a dance-lover. I started taking ballroom dancing in high school after falling in love with the movie “Strictly Ballroom”. And that was about the time “Dancing with the Stars” and the movie “Shall We Dance?” were very popular.

I’d have to say, I’m not a fan of the bump-and-grind and that’s why ballroom dancing holds such an appeal for me. I enjoy the formality, your partner asks you to dance and you thank him afterward. I think it teaches so much more than the dance steps, ballroom dancing teaches, courtesy, posture, and presence and the best part, you actually dance with a partner. The Latin rhythm dances are my favorites, i.e. the rumba, salsa, merengue, samba, etc. This probably has something to do with the fact that I love the Latin culture.

Powered by Plinky

3 thoughts on “Art I Appreciate

Leave a Reply

