Be my empanada…

I’ve been in a cooking mood lately, which is saying something for me since the my cooking skills amount to sauteing, boiling water, and using the microwave.

Last week I cooked some awesome Mexican chicken, baked with Rotel, black beans, onions, chili powder, and a pinch of garlic salt.  And then yesterday I used my ‘mad’ sauteing skills to create a dish with onions, mushrooms and zucchini tossed over Organic wild rice and spritzed with Braggs Liquid Aminos, yum if I do say so myself!

So I guess all this cooking really reminds me of Argentina.  While studying there for a semester I lived with a wonderful and interesting woman named Rosita.  And Rosita was a great cook and an anomaly–a vegetarian in Argentina (the Beef Capital of the world).  Regardless of her diet preference, Rosita made great dishes with homemade pasta, fresh baked bread, pizza with a polenta crust, and the list goes on and on.

One of my favorites of hers were her empanadas–an Argentinian classic that varies by region.  In Cordoba, (where I was) the empanda was a tasty pastry that contained raisins, olives, eggs, and beef, seasoned with sweet paprika.  I thought I would share the recipe with you, I have no idea of portion control for this—but I believe it makes about 12-16 empanadas and unfortunately it’s more of a list of ingredients but I’ll do my best!

Rellena de Empanadas                                                                          Empanada Filling
1 libra de carne molida                                                                          1 lb. of ground beef
1 1/2 taza de pasas                                                                                   1 1/2 cup of raisins
1/2-1 taza de aceitunas picadas (negro o verde)                         1/2-1 cup of minced olives (black or green)
2 papas grandes                                                                                          2 large potatoes
3-4 huevos duros                                                                                       3-4 hard boiled eggs

Brown and drain the beef, then and cook with sauteed onions (minced) and potatoes
Dice the hard-boiled eggs and add the raisins, olives, eggs to the beef mixture
Season with a pinch of salt

Masa de Empanadas                                                                                 Empanada Pastry
3 posillos de harina                                                                                   3 cups of all-purpose flour
1oo g de margarina (o mantequilla)                                                   1 stick of margarine (or butter)
Una cucharilla de pimenton dulce                                                      1/2 tsp of sweet paprika
Una cucharilla de sal                                                                                 1/2 tsp of salt
1 taza de agua fria                                                                                        1 cup of cold water

Mix dry ingredients first
Melt butter and fold into mixture
Add cup of cold water, mix well let sit for 30 mins

Roll dough into half and egg shape and roll out on cookie sheet to large coin-size about 1/8 in thick
Add Empanada filling to the center of each
Fold half of the dough over and close by pinching the folded edge together with a fork
Lightly brush each empanada with egg
Bake at 350 degrees until golden

Want a more specific recipe check out:
http://www.try2cook.com/Cooking-Empanadas-Argentinas-in-Buenos-Aires.html

Leave a Reply

