Lost in Translation

Just a little food for thought…

Spanish teachers (and I’m sure all language teachers) always advise their students, “Don’t use online-translators…you can’t translate directly from Spanish to English! (or vice-versa)

And it really is true…expressions are not the same, or the meaning of some words and phrases.  While in Argentina, I learned that humor and sarcasm do not translate well either.  The movie JUNO (one of my favorites!) is full of sarcasm and witty comments…and believe me watching it in the theater over there was a different experience…it seemed like my friend and I were the only ones laughing.

But, I think that this is also true in reverse…Finding Nemo was great in English but I thought it seemed much better in Spanish!

Leave a Reply

