How do you learn?

Did you know that we all have different learning styles?  I certainly didn’t until I took an education class for tutoring certification in college.  There are those of us who learn best through visual demonstration, hands-on activities, writing/reading and/or listening. 

I learned in that class that I am very much a writing/listening learner.  That didn’t come as a shock since I always wrote mountains and mountains of notes.  I know that sounds boring and tedious, but it really works for me. I know a lot of people who are visual learners, they only need to see how something works and then it clicks.

What works for you?  I’ve always believed that a combination of things is best, taking notes while listening to the teacher, watching the results of an experiment while making note of the process, trying something out on your own and making record of it later. 

I’ve also learned that the classroom today is very different from what I had in high school.  Then, we took out physical textbooks and notebooks, we wrote notes with a pen or pencil and we physically turned in all of our assignments.  Today, I’ve noticed that many of my students have a school-issued laptop and it’s the tool they use to take notes, create and turn in assignments, and read textbooks.  For me that sounds like a nightmare, I feel the need to read or write something on a piece of paper, not a computer screen, but maybe I’m just dating myself.

 

What do you think?

 

One thought on “How do you learn?

  1. What works best – a good question. A combination is best, you just have to decide on which type of learning needs to be emphasised on. I learn (and remember) more by reading. This is enhanced by listening to a pleasant voice. Depending on the subject other strategies might be more favourable. As I have a not too legible handwriting, I prefer to key in my works.

Leave a Reply

