Learning a Language….

This is a theme I return to often, but I feel that it is very important.

I’m aware I’ve said this before, but a language is more than just words, it’s a new world…it provides the speaker with a new means of expression, a broader mind, and a fresh perspective.

A few years ago I met someone who told me, “Language is just a skill, you translate from one to another so people can understand each other….Learning culture and literature is not necessary.”

I think that my jaw hit the floor after that comment.  Language is so much more than “just a skill” and if you’ve ever tried to translate or interpret from one to another, you know there is much more than just words.

So, after that I’ll leave you with some words….

A different language is a different vision of life.  ~Federico Fellini

Learn a new language and get a new soul.  ~Czech Proverb

(I may be setting myself with this one, but I’ve noticed it’s true…)  If you can speak three languages you’re trilingual.  If you can speak two languages you’re bilingual.  If you can speak only one language you’re an American.  ~Author Unknown   


One thought on “Learning a Language….

Leave a Reply

